Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
You must file if you are:· Single and your VAGI (VA adjusted gross income) is $11,950 or more.· Married filing jointly and your combined VAGI is $23,900 or more.· Married filing separate and your VAGI is $11,950 or more.(If you are not required to file, but you had Virginia income tax withheld, you are entitled to a refund of the amount withheld. You must file a return to receive a refund.)
Show All Answers
If your vehicle is titled solely to you, a military person residing in Dinwiddie County because of military orders, or jointly titled with a military spouse residing in Dinwiddie County because of military orders, it will qualify for exemption from local personal property taxation in Dinwiddie County under the Service members Civil Relief Act.
As of November 11, 2009, vehicles titled solely in the name of a non-military spouse or jointly titled with a non-military spouse who is present in the state to be with the service member in compliance with the service member’s military orders will qualify for exemption from local personal property taxation in Dinwiddie County under the Service members Civil Relief Act.
To request an exemption from personal property tax in Dinwiddie County, military personnel must send a copy of a recent leave and earnings statement (LES) or military orders.
Documentation may be faxed to (804) 469-4548, emailed or mailed via the USPS to P.O. Box 104, Dinwiddie, VA 23841.
1. The property's value 2. The number of months in a calendar year such property is located in Dinwiddie County.
A vehicle has situs for taxation in the county if it is garaged, parked, or stored in the county, or if it is registered to a county address with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. If the vehicle has situs for taxation in the county for a period of less than a full year, your tax liability would (under most circumstances) be reduced. The county determines the tax by first multiplying the vehicle's assessed value by the portion of the year the vehicle has situs in the county. Proration is done using full month increments, and a taxpayer is liable for a full month's tax if the vehicle has situs in the county for more than half the month. The county then multiplies this prorated amount by the tax rate to determine the tax.
However, if you move the property to a non-prorating locality in Virginia, the full year's tax is payable to Dinwiddie County. No refund will be issued, since your liability to the non-prorating locality begins January 1 of the next year.
Additionally, if you move your vehicle to a state other than Virginia, Virginia State Code Section 58.1-3511 specifies that “the situs for vehicles with a weight of 10,000 pounds or less registered in Virginia but normally garaged, docked or parked in another state shall be the locality in Virginia where registered.” Your vehicle account will be prorated as of the date your vehicle is registered in another state or when it is no longer actively registered in Virginia.
Although the balance due on delivery may be reduced by credits for trade-ins, unpaid liens or encumbrances, manufacturers' rebates or dealer discounts, the total purchase price or original cost for purposes of the motor vehicle sales and use tax and personal property tax is not reduced by such amounts.
For extensive un-repaired body damage or serious mechanical defects, please submit an itemized estimate from an automobile repair facility on business letterhead detailing the extent of damage and the cost to repair the vehicle. Other acceptable documentation would be a copy of an insurance company estimate describing the condition and cost to repair the damage. It must be clear from the documents provided that the condition existed on January 1 of the tax year.
All appeals must be received by December 31 of the tax year being appealed. Appeals are reviewed in the order received. Please allow up to 60 days for processing. The tax bill is still required to be paid by the respective due date. If the assessment is later reduced as a result of the appeal, the county will issue a tax refund. The Commissioner recommends that, to avoid a late payment penalty, you pay your bill in full, have the assessment corrected, then receive a refund based on the corrected assessment.
You can get forms from the Commissioner of the Revenue office at 14010 Boydton Plank Road, VA. You may download forms from the Virginia Department of Taxation website
If the property for which you received the real property exemption is sold, you will need to supply the Commissioner of the Revenue’s Office with a new request for real property exemption.
The exemption is only extended to the veteran’s surviving spouse if the death of the veteran occurred on or after January 1, 2011, the real property is maintained as the surviving spouse’s principal residence, and he or she does not remarry.