Crater Planning District Commission


Crater Planning District Commission is comprised of 11 local governments in south central Virginia. These are the cities of Colonial Heights, Emporia, Hopewell and Petersburg, and the counties of Charles City, Chesterfield, Dinwiddie, Greensville, Prince George, Surry and Sussex. The major focus of the Commission's work program is economic, industrial and small business development, reflecting the priorities which have been established by the member localities. Another important work area involves environmental issues, in response to local needs. These include: Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act - local ramifications, air quality standards and solid waste management. The Commission also addresses regional transportation issues and assists localities in their transportation planning efforts.

  • Commission Makeup/Size: Eleven (11) members
    • Each jurisdiction appoints a representative
  • Meeting Schedule:
    • 2nd Thursday of each month except February and June (4th Thursdays) – meetings begin with dinner at 6:00 p.m.
  • Term:Four (4) Years
  • Paid:N/A

Current Membership

  • Dr. Mark E. Moore
    • Term Expires 12/31/25
  • W. Kevin Massengill
    • Term Expires 12/31/25

Jay Ellington
Executive Director
P.O. Box 1808
Petersburg, VA 23805